Italian Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Tomatoes

This week’s CSA included Red Delicious apples, green bell peppers, yellow string beans, sweet corn, an eggplant, and cherry tomatoes.  I split the apples, corn, and peppers evenly with my co-worker, but I gave her all the beans, the eggplant, and the tomatoes.  She doesn’t like tomatoes, but I have so many from my own garden and the neighbor dropped some by the other day, so they will probably go to another co-worker.  I still have beans from last week, which I am going to freeze.  I might also freeze the corn.20160920_155708

Italian sausage and peppers just speaks to me on a deep level.  It’s an easy classic recipe that can be served by itself, on a roll, or on top of pasta.  I added the tomatoes because we have too many and I will probably be adding tomatoes to every dish until we run out, which doesn’t seem like it’s going to be any time soon. 20160921_104956

The sausage is from Anschuetz Farm, the same place I bought the bacon from.  I highly recommend them.  The sausage does contain brown sugar, so it is not clean nor paleo.  I follow the 80/20 rule for clean eating, so I am okay with the brown sugar added in this sausage.  Feel free to substitute another high quality sausage from your local farmer or butcher that doesn’t contain sugar or other unhealthy ingredients.

Italian Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Tomatoes

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
20160921_105956.jpg

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 lb sweet Italian sausage
  • 3 bell peppers, sliced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cups plum tomatoes, cut in quarters
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • ¼ cup basil, chopped
  • 1 tsp oregano

Directions

  1. Heat oil in a pan over medium heat.  Add the sausages and cook until browned.  Set aside.
  2. Add the peppers, onion, and garlic and cook about 5 minutes. Stir in the tomatoes, basil, and oregano and continue cooking until the veggies are cooked to desired tenderness.
  3. Cut the sausage in bite sized pieces and add back to the pan.  Cook a few minutes more until the sausage is heated throughout.

Leave a Reply

