Easy Cabbage and Noodles

My co-worker lives up in Schuylkill County.  For those non-PA natives or those unfamiliar with the word, we pronounce it “skoo-cool.”  It is an hour drive from here to there, so there are some regional differences.  For one, she makes this delicious dish of cabbage and egg noodles.  When she brings it in to work, there are usually leftovers for me and my co-workers.

Cabbage and noodles sounds like a weird combination, but it is actually really tasty.  The butter makes every bite even more savory and addicting.

When I received the head of cabbage in the CSA last week, I tried to give it to another co-worker, but she did not want it.  I then decided to make my own version of the cabbage and egg noodles.  The Italian side of my family has a motto when cooking and that is, “You can never have too much garlic.”  My co-worker doesn’t add garlic to her cabbage and noodles, but because I can, I did.  I also added the shallot from this week’s CSA just to use it and give the dish a little more flavor.

Cabbage and Noodles

  • Servings: 10-12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
20160825_110940

Ingredients

  • 8 oz whole wheat egg noodles
  • 1 head of cabbage, chopped
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • ½ cup butter
  • salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Cook the egg noodles according to the directions.
  2. In a large pan, add the butter and sauté the shallot until it is soft.  Add the garlic and cabbage and sauté an additional 10 minutes or until the cabbage is soft.
  3. Add the cabbage to the noodles and stir.  Season with salt and pepper.

Notes:  I initially used 12 oz of noodles, but think it is better to only use 8 oz, especially if you have a smaller cabbage.

Leave a Reply

