Cantaloupe Popsicles

My great grandmother grew up in Italy during World War I and in a family history interview, she said her favorite food to eat was fruit because they never got it a lot.

Now, the orchard up the street from my house has plenty of fruit:  apples, cantaloupe, watermelon, peaches, nectarines, plums, etc. so I have been eating a lot of fruit lately.  Yesterday, I ate half a cantaloupe by myself before I went to work.  I’ve also been snacking on watermelon this afternoon.  Fruit is so versatile.  You can eat it plain, cooked in a meal, or baked in a dessert.  Fruit can be served any time of day, too.

My mom buys real fruit popsicles from the grocery store, but they have added sugar, so I thought I would try to make my own and see if they turn out better than store bought.  This recipe is for cantaloupe popsicles, but you could easily substitute another fruit.  Use about 1-2 cups of fruit of your choosing.  You can also substitute a can of coconut milk to give your popsicles a more creamy texture.

Cantaloupe Popsicles

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
20160820_144959

Ingredients

  • ½ cantaloupe, chopped
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions

  1. Combine all of the ingredients in a blender and mix until smooth.
  2. Pour into popsicle molds.
  3. Freeze overnight.  Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Cantaloupe Popsicles

Leave a Reply

