CSA Week 12 and Clean Eating Peanut Butter Caramel Sauce

The CSA for this week included: corn, a cantaloupe, lettuce, an eggplant, peaches, and early gold apples.  I am hesitant to give the eggplant to my co-worker again this week.  I want to try it again and see if my tastes have changed since the last time I ate it.  I might switch it out and give her the cantaloupe instead.  Although, I did find a tasty recipe for cantaloupe popsicles so I am torn.  I want to keep everything!20160809_124923

Strites’ Orchard participates in a Farm-to-Table dinner that supports the Hope Lodge in Hershey, PA.  Hope Lodge provides no cost housing to patients and their families while they receive cancer treatment at the Penn State Hershey Medical Center.  Other local vendors participate as well.  The event is held at Strites’ and costs $150 per person.  For more information, visit http://www.acsfarmtotable.org/.

Generally, caramel sauce is not clean eating.  There are recipes out there for caramel sauce that are sugar free and even vegan!  The following recipe is clean and the added peanut butter makes it a great dip for apples. It’s an easy three ingredient recipe, though I may add a little vanilla extract the next time I make it.  It does taste a lot more peanut buttery than caramel, but it is still a good substitute for the classic sugar-laden caramel sauce.

Clean Eating Peanut Butter Caramel Sauce

20160810_105508-1

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp peanut butter
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup milk (I used almond milk)

Directions

  1. Mix the peanut butter and syrup in a sauce pan over medium high heat.  Bring to a boil and mix until the sauce thickens and turns a deep golden color.
  2. Pour in the milk and stir until the sauce is smooth.
  3. Store in the refrigerator.  The sauce will thicken slightly as it cools.

Leave a Reply

