Garlic Dill Pickles with Hungarian Peppers

My grandparents have so many cucumbers right now. I tried to grow some pickling cucumbers but I did not water them as much as they need so they do not look very healthy. I still wanted to make some pickles so I used one from my grandparents’ garden. The dill came from their garden and the garlic came from mine. I also added a Hungarian pepper I bought at the local orchard, Strites’ (I also realized today when I was visiting that it is Strites’ and not Strite’s). The Hungarian peppers were advertised as mildly spicy, but after chopping one and scratching my nose, I think they are a lot spicier than advertised. I hope the pickles do not turn out to be too spicy.  I will update this post in two weeks when the pickles are ready to be eaten.
This recipe is fairly easy.  I adapted my recipe from Refrigerator Garlic Dill Pickles. I only could find one 20 ounce glass jar, so feel free to double or triple this recipe if needed.

Garlic Dill Pickles with Hungarian Peppers

20160722_103952

Ingredients

  • 2 cups water
  • ¼ cup white vinegar
  • 1/8 cup pickling salt (I used sea salt)
  • 1 large cucumber (about 1 pound)
  • 1 Hungarian pepper
  • 2 heads of dill
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled
  • ¼ tsp red pepper flakes

Directions

  1. Bring the water, vinegar, and salt to a boil so that the salt dissolves.
  2. Slice the cucumber and pepper.
  3. In the bottom of the jar, place one head of dill and two cloves of garlic. Layer the cucumbers and peppers until the jar is almost full. Place the other head of dill and remaining garlic on top. Add the red pepper flakes.
  4. Fill the jar with the vinegar salt water mixture until everything is completely covered. Place the lid on tightly.
  5. Let the jar sit on the counter for 2-3 days and then refrigerate at least two weeks before opening.

One thought on “Garlic Dill Pickles with Hungarian Peppers

Leave a Reply

