Cheesy Cabbage Fritters with Yogurt Sauce

I love making up recipes but they do not always work out.  I have never cooked with cabbage before so I wanted to make something unique, but fairly simple with it since it came in this week’s CSA.  My dad makes what he calls “Poor Man Crab Cakes” which are made with zucchini instead of crab meat.  I thought, why don’t I make something similar with the cabbage?  I also had some of the goat cheese feta still left and the garden is currently bursting with herbs.  It seemed like the perfect recipe in the making.

I believe the problem stems from not drawing enough water out of the cabbage and using fresh herbs, which also contain a bit of moisture.  The resulting mixture was just too wet.  I could have used more flaxseed, but I did not want to make it too dry and take away from the other flavors.  I might also use less feta next time as it made the fritters almost too salty.

The yogurt sauce turned out pretty good, though, and it was definitely needed for dipping.  My dad ate almost half of the fritters I made, so they are not all that bad, just not perfect yet.

Cooking is about having fun and stepping outside of your comfort level.  There will be mistakes, there will be dishes that don’t turn out, but there will also be successes and you may discover a flavor combination that you love.  I am always up for trying new things in the kitchen and sometimes it just takes practice to get things right.  The cabbage fritters is one of those recipes that I am going to need to come back to after I have refined my technique, but for now, below is the exact recipe I followed.

20160623_152239-1-1

Cheesy Cabbage Fritters with Yogurt Sauce

For the fritters:

  • 1 cup grated or chopped cabbage
  • 2/3 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp milled flaxseed
  • 1 tsp chopped basil
  • 1 tsp chopped rosemary
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1 tsp salt

For the sauce:

  • ½ cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp chopped mint
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
  2. Place the grated or chopped cabbage in a bowl and sprinkle with salt. Let sit a few minutes and squeeze out the excess water.
  3. Whisk the egg with the herbs and flaxseed.
  4. Mix the egg mixture with the cheese and kohlrabi.
  5. Form 1 1/2” balls and place them on a parchment paper lined baking pan. Flatten them with a fork.
  6. Bake for 15-20 minutes.
  7. While the fritters are baking, prepare the yogurt sauce by mixing all of the ingredients together in a bowl.  Season with salt and pepper.
  8. Serve the fritters with the yogurt sauce.

 

2 thoughts on “Cheesy Cabbage Fritters with Yogurt Sauce

Leave a Reply

