Aphids on my Broccoli

2016-06-14 11.23.44
My co-worker’s broccoli

My co-worker’s broccoli is coming in nicely.  My grandfather’s broccoli has already been harvested.  My broccoli has aphids.

Aphids are destructive little bugs that feed on garden plants.  Aphids like broccoli, spinach, beets, lettuce, squash, potatoes, and other vegetable plants.

Perhaps one of the reasons my grandfather does not have aphids on his plants is because the dill my grandmother planted long ago has grown all along the outskirts of his garden.  Dill is one of a few flowers and herbs that attract ladybugs.  Ladybugs like to eat aphids.  Along with dill, fennel, marigold, chives, and calendula are ladybug attractants.  I do not have any of that in my garden and haven’t noticed a single ladybug.  I also read that garlic and onion plants deter aphids because of their strong smell.  I have a few of these growing in my garden so I may replant them closer to my broccoli.

Since I have not got any ladybugs to take care of my aphid problem, I had to go another route.  If you have only got a few aphids, you can pick them off yourself, however, if you have a lot, you’ll need to treat them.  I added a few teaspoons of dish soap to a spray bottle with warm water.  I then sprayed the aphids as well as both sides of the leaves on my broccoli plant.  After about an hour, I rinsed the soapy mixture off the broccoli so that the leaves are not damaged.  I hope that by killing the aphids, my broccoli plant will continue to grow and flower.

20160614_104704
My broccoli right after spraying with the dish soap and water mixture
Leave a Reply

