Spinach and Kale Cheddar Cornbread Muffins

2016-05-26 11.46.20

This week’s CSA contained kale and I am not a fan of kale, but I didn’t want it to go to waste.  I searched Pinterest for recipes that contain kale but might appeal to the non-lovers of kale out there.  I am all about eating healthy and I know kale has been dubbed a “superfood,” however, I still like my food to taste good and not bitter.  I also can’t stand quinoa, but more on that later (or not).

I came across a recipe for spinach cheddar corn muffins and decided to use it as inspiration for the following.  The original recipe from Spiced can be found here.  I eliminated the sugar and exchanged the all-purpose flour for whole wheat to make the recipe clean.  I also added some spices, including freshly dried oregano from my garden.  The kale and spinach are both from this week’s CSA.

Spinach and Kale Cheddar Cornbread Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups chopped kale
  • 1 ½ cups chopped spinach
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk (I used 2% since that is all we had in the house, but feel free to use any milk of your choice)
  • ½ cup melted butter
  • 1/4 cup olive oil*
  • 1 cup shredded white cheddar
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • ½ tsp salt

Instructions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F.
  2. Mix together the dry ingredients and spices in a large bowl.  Add in the wet ingredients and the cheddar cheese.  Stir in the spinach and kale until well combined.20160526_110253
  3. Fill each cup in a greased or baking cup lined muffin pan about ¾ full.
  4. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the muffins look golden brown.2016-05-26 11.38.55

Be warned:   Your kitchen will smell delicious while these are baking.  Resist the temptation to take the muffins out of the oven too early.  I highly recommend serving them warm with a nice glass of milk.

*I initially omitted this, but the muffins came out dry.  You could probably use any oil of your choice.

Leave a Reply

