Sweeteners I Do and Do Not Eat

Honey-benefits

Before I stopped eating sugar, I did not eat artificial sweeteners.  In my opinion, refined sugar is better than an artificial sweetener.  Below, I will expand upon sweeteners I do and do not eat and my reasoning behind them.  Please do not take anything in this article as medical or health advice.  There is a lot of research done on the sweeteners listed below that you can look up and form your own opinion on.

Sweeteners I don’t eat

Aspartame

Aspartame is an artificial sweetener that is also known as Equal or NutraSweet.  I find that foods containing aspartame give me headaches.  As it is a synthetic chemical compound, I do not consider it clean.

High Fructose Corn Syrup

High Fructose Corn Syrup is basically sugar, but it is made from corn, which makes it a cheaper additive to sweetening foods.  It is processed and therefore, not a clean sweetener.

Stevia

Stevia is considered a natural sweetener because it is derived from the stevia plant.  Many people think it is a safe sweetener because it comes from a plant.  I do not like it because, like aspartame, it gives me headaches.

Sucralose

Sucralose is also known as Splenda.  It is a very sweet artificial sweetener.  It is chemically processed which is the main reason I do not eat it.

Sweeteners I do eat

Honey

Honey is my favorite sweetener.  It contains anti-oxidants, vitamins, minerals, and amino acids.  I purchase my honey from the local orchard.

Maple Syrup

100% maple syrup is basically boiled down sap from sugar maple trees.  It is a delicious and natural sugar.

Organic Cane Sugar/Juice

Cane sugar/juiceSw is less refined and less processed than white sugar.  It is a natural sweetener made from sugar cane.  I do not cook or bake with it, but I will indulge in foods that contain it such as granola bars or organic chocolate products.  It is cleaner than sugar, but still not a 100% clean option, so I do not eat it all the time.

Sources:

http://www.cleaneatingmag.com/food-health/food-and-health-news/our-favorite-clean-natural-sweeteners/

http://www.cleaneatingsurvivalguide.com/blog/2013/11/12/4pjq92k5wugbr5nttqkhm5t930l7bx

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2011/10/08/the-4-best-and-3-worst-sweeteners-to-have-in-your-kitchen.aspx

Leave a Reply

