How I Define Clean Eating

Egg

There are some who say that clean eating is a fad.  There are even some that say clean eating is dangerous.  It is not a diet, it is a lifestyle.  Eating clean is about eating less unhealthy foods and cutting out processed foods and added sugars.  It is about eating fruits, vegetables, healthy proteins, whole grains, and even fats.

I have been eating clean since November 2015.  At first, it was very difficult to embrace a clean lifestyle, especially since I have a sweet tooth.  I quickly learned that I could still eat delicious and tasty foods that were also healthy.  I found alternatives to the candies and chocolates I loved that still hit the spot.

I went from a person who could eat dessert with every meal (even breakfast!) to a person who has now embraced the clean eating lifestyle.  There are many health benefits from eating clean as well.  My mood has improved, my chronic headaches and migraines have almost completely disappeared and I just feel good.  So how do I it?

What I don’t eat:

  • Added sugar
  • Artificial sweeteners such as Aspartame
  • Corn syrup
  • Preservatives
  • Refined grains such as enriched white flour

What I do eat:

  • Healthy sweeteners such as honey and maple syrup
  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Whole grains
  • Protein
  • Dairy

It may seem daunting to check the ingredients on everything you eat, but eating clean has helped me feel healthier and happier.

Leave a Reply

